FROM THE VIDEO ARCHIVE: UNSEEN SALFORD HISTORY - PART 2
SalfordOnline was granted exclusive and unprecedented access into the building now used as Salford Magistrates Court.
The building closed on 21st December 2011 as part of government cuts to courts across the country.
So watch here to find out where a fabulous new Town Hall was proposed - but never built, and to discover the mystery of the stone busts of two unknown Salford dignitaries from the 1800s.
We think the stone busts may represent: William Lockett who was the first mayor of Salford in 1844, Joseph Brotherton, the city's first MP, Edward Langworthy, Salford's second-ever MP, or Elkanah Armitage, a Salford mill owner.
This article first appeared on SalfordOnline in November 2011 and is reproduced here with the full blessings of renowned recorder of historical stuff, Tony Flynn.